When I started to get into concealed carry and personal home defense I started to wonder what would be the consequences of leaving your magazines loaded vs. unloaded so I started doing some research and thought I would share my findings.

From what I’ve seen searching multiple gun related forums, there is no evidence to suggest that leaving them loaded will wear out the spring any faster than an unloaded magazine, I think it really comes down to type of use and personal preference. I have seen multiple forums mention that loading and unloading them or doing swap outs will wear them out faster. Leaving them loaded does not cause the spring to wear out any faster as long as long as you aren’t over compressing the spring. Many mention most quality magazines will never wear out in the time that you own the firearm. An unloaded weapon in my opinion isn’t worth my life as a deterrent and is not very useful in personal defense situations. I do liked to keep the mags oiled down just as much as my firearm. I spray Rem Oil on the inside of the mag lightly and then wipe it down with some as well. Keeps them functioning properly and prevents them from rusting.

Leave a Reply

