Response to My Letter To Ann Wagner Missouri State Representative

Posted: February 18, 2013 in Guns, News
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank you for contacting me regarding my position on gun control and violence.

As a strong supporter of the Second Amendment, the right to own a gun is very important to me. I believe that our founding fathers meant for all law-abiding citizens to have the right to bear and maintain firearms. Whether it is for hunting or marksmanship, firearms are an integral part of American sportsmanship and recreation. Furthermore, individuals should always possess, as a last recourse, the right to defend themselves and their families. For the majority of Americans, these rights are exercised responsibly every day, and it is important not to punish these people who obey the laws.

I do believe, however, that a number of other issues related to recent shootings must be aired and discussed as part of a national dialogue. We all should be involved in a broader conversation to seek ways to prevent another tragedy like the shootings at Sandy Hook Elementary School that took the lives of twenty children and six adults. I watched things unfold that tragic day and was moved to tears several times as I thought about my own children when they were at that age.

The American people deserve to have a comprehensive dialogue on all the underlying causes of violence, especially issues regarding mental health, before major legislative actions are taken. Unfortunately, that has yet to happen. Now is not the time for circumventing Congress with Executive Orders, conducting closed-door meetings, and recommending legislation that infringes upon our Second Amendment rights. Many pieces of legislation focusing on different aspects of gun control are likely to be introduced as the discussion continues in the media and in committee hearings. I will carefully examine any legislation that comes before me, in order to make sure that the true intention of the Second Amendment is upheld. I am committed to being a part of the real solution and am looking forward to working with my colleagues to address these issues.

Again, thank you for contacting me on this important issue. Hearing the views of all Missourians gives me the opportunity to better understand how important issues could impact the people of the 2nd Congressional District and the future interests of the nation.

For additional information regarding current legislation and my representation of the 2nd Congressional District, I invite you to visit my website at http://www.wagner.house.gov .

Sincerely,

Ann Wagner
Member of Congress

Just thought you guys would like to be aware and informed.

-Hitman9921

Leave a Reply

